Couples appointments allow you to schedule two clients for the same appointment. These two clients will share billing and progress notes for their couples appointments.
Below you can learn more about:
Creating a new couples appointment
There are two main steps to follow when creating a couples appointment:
- Create a new appointment on the calendar
- Add the first client to the new appointment
Note: The client you enter here will be considered the primary client. The primary client will be billed for the session and all billing documents will be in this client's name. There isn't a way to change the primary client for an appointment after it's created and saved.
- Select Couple from the drop-down menu at the bottom of the calendar flyout window and enter the second client
- Set the appropriate service code and appointment time
- The new couples appointment will show the first name of both clients in the calendar to indicate that it is a couples appointment
Note: When you write a progress note for a couple's appointment, that note will only be saved to the client's chart on the client's page that you're updating.
Appointment reminders for couples appointments
If you have time of scheduling reminders enabled, you'll see a pop-up window with the option to send an appointment reminder to the primary client of a couples appointment as soon as you save the new couples appointment.
At this time, even though only the primary client will appear as the recipient in the pop-up window, if both clients have appointment reminders enabled, both clients will automatically receive the reminder if you choose to send it.
Additionally, both clients will also receive the regular appointment reminder(s) as well.
If you don't want the secondary client to receive a reminder, we recommend that you disable appointment reminders (email and/or text) for that client. You can do this by navigating to the client's Overview page > Edit details and uncheck the appointment reminders box.