3.6 Sharing Documents with Clients

Follow

Document Sharing through the Client Portal is available on the Essential, Professional and Professional for Groups Plans.  

Through the Client Portal, you have the ability to share documents with clients (i.e. homework, questionnaires, articles).  Sharing documents is easy and can be done through your client's overview page.  Document sharing is a great way to send intake forms to clients you have already created within SimplePractice.  

 

To share documents, you'll first want to Add forms or practice documents you wish to send.  
How to Add Forms/Documents for Sharing 

1. To share a document, click on your client's name and locate the "Shared" area of their profile. 

 

2. Click on "Share New".  

You will be presented with a template email, where you can select which documents you wish to send to your client.  

 

3. Select any documents that you wish to share and then click "Send message."

Your client will receive an email with the portal link, alerting them that they have new documents to complete.   

When your client logs into the portal using your unique practice link (or from the email you sent them when you shared the documents), they will be able to view all the pending and completed documents that you have shared.  This helps them easily track what they need to complete and send back to you.

 

4. Client View of the Client Portal Documents Tab:

5. Once your client has completed the requested documents, you can locate the completed forms in:

  1. "Stored Documents": uploaded documents, PDF's, Signed practice documents
  2. List/Excerpt view of the client profile: Any forms/questionnaires a client has filled out

Important Details to Know:

  • You cannot re-send documents that are already waiting in the client portal to be completed.  Your client can always log in to complete any outstanding forms. 
  • If your client forgets their password, they can click on "forgot password" from the client portal to have a reset link sent to them.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Ryan

    Any way to delete the default files that exist in the shared library of the client portal?