Skip to main content

Getting started with 2-way calendar sync and Office 365

Getting started with 2-way calendar sync and Office 365

Important: By enabling calendar sync between your SimplePractice calendar and an external calendar, you acknowledge and agree to follow HIPAA Compliance requirements and protect the calendar information, including the secure Telehealth video link.

Our 2-way calendar sync with Office 365 allows you to view your non-client events and client appointments in one place. In this guide, we’ll cover:


Syncing your SimplePractice calendar with Office 365

To sync your SimplePractice calendar with Office 365:

  • Navigate to Settings > Calendar
  • Under 2-way sync and next to Office 365, click Connect

  • In the new window, click Log into Microsoft

  • Use your Microsoft account credentials to login, click Next
  • To let SimplePractice access your Office 365 calendar, click Accept

When you return to Settings > Calendar, you’ll see Office 365 is Synced

You’ll also want to add your SimplePractice calendar to Office 365. To do this:

  • Select SimplePractice

Any changes you make in the SimplePractice calendar in Office 365 will reflect in your SimplePractice calendar.

Important: With our 2-way calendar sync feature, only changes you add to the SimplePractice calendar in Office 365 will appear in SimplePractice. The other calendars listed under My calendars aren’t part of the 2-way sync.


Removing 2-way sync

You can remove 2-way sync from Office 365 at any time. To do this: 

  • Navigate to Settings > Calendar
  • Under 2-way sync and next to Office 365, click Disconnect

 

 

To remove your SimplePractice calendar from Office 365:

  • Navigate to your Outlook Calendar
  • Under My calendars, click the 3 horizontal dots next to SimplePractice
  • Select Remove

  • In the pop up window, click Remove

Note: After disconnecting in SimplePractice or removing in Office 365, your connection will immediately end and all of your SimplePractice appointments will no longer appear in Office 365. You'll also receive an email confirming the disconnection.


Scheduling clients using Office 365

Any appointment you create on your SimplePractice calendar within Office 365 will appear as a non-client calendar event in your SimplePractice account. To do this:

  • Navigate to your Outlook Calendar
  • Click New event
  • Next to Calendar, click the down arrow and select SimplePractice

  • Add a title and/or description that includes appointment details
  • Click Save

  • Return to your SimplePractice calendar to view the calendar event and further appointment details

Modifying appointments in Office 365

As long as your appointment isn't locked in SimplePractice, you'll be able to move it around in Office 365 by clicking and dragging the appointment in the calendar. This change will be reflected on your SimplePractice calendar.

Recurring series

Recurring appointment series need to be created in SimplePractice first; however, you can adjust the appointment times in Office 365 once you’ve created them. To learn more, see Creating a recurring appointment series.

Once you create the series, all appointments will appear in Office 365.

Note: If a recurring series is created in Office 365, it’ll be automatically deleted in both Office 365 and SimplePractice. However, once you’ve created the appointments series in SimplePractice, you can make adjustments to individual appointments from Office 365. Keep in mind, making changes to an individual appointment will separate it from the regular recurring series, while leaving the rest of the series unaffected.


Troubleshooting 2-way calendar with Office 365

To troubleshoot 2-way calendar sync with Office 365, try disconnecting and reconnecting your calendars. To do this:

  • Navigate to your Outlook Calendar
  • Under My calendars, click the 3 horizontal dots next to SimplePractice
  • Select Remove

This will disconnect your 2-way calendar sync. To reconnect: 

  • ​Navigate to Settings > Calendar in SimplePractice
  • Under 2-way sync next to Office 365, click Connect 

For more information, see Removing 2-way sync.

Still have questions?

Get more help