Community

Getting started guides for clients: How to confirm and cancel appointments

We've created guides for clients about how to confirm and cancel appointments via their appointment reminders. You can find the three versions of How to confirm and cancel appointments below, depending on your text appointment reminder settings.

Note: See Getting started guides for your clients for more downloadable client guides.

You can view instructions on confirming and cancelling appointments below: 

Click any of the links below to download a PDF version to share with your clients: 

Note: If you're a clinician setting up appointment reminders, see How to set up appointment and time of scheduling reminders for more information on allowing clients to confirm or cancel appointments via text.


How to confirm and cancel appointments

If you've agreed to receive text reminders from your clinician, you'll receive text reminders with information about your upcoming appointments. You can also confirm or cancel appointments through these text reminders. Find out more below:

  1. Confirming your appointment
  2. Cancelling your appointment
  3. Re-enrolling in text reminders

CONFIRMING YOUR APPOINTMENT

When you receive your text appointment reminder, you'll see a message similar to this:

confirmappointment.simplepractice.appointmentreminder.png

  1. Tap the link in the message. The Appointment Details page will open in the default browser of your device.
  2. To confirm your appointment, tap Yes, I'll be there.
    confirmation.simplepractice.appointmentreminder.png
  3. You'll then see a confirmation modal that says Your appointment is confirmed.
    appointmentconfirmed.simplepractice.appointmentreminder.png
  4. Your clinician will then be notified of your appointment confirmation.

CANCELLING YOUR APPOINTMENT

Tap the appointment link in your text appointment reminder. The Appointment Details page will open in your default browser.

  1. Tap Cancel Appointment.
    cancelappointment.simplepractice.appointmentreminder.png
  2. To submit the cancellation, enter a reason for cancelling and tap Yes, Cancel.
    yescancel.simplepractice.appointmentreminder.png

Note: You can only cancel your appointment via text reminder within your clinician's cancellation window.

RE-ENROLLING IN TEXT REMINDERS

If you've unsubscribed from text reminders and would like to begin receiving them again, simply text START in your previous reminder text thread. This will re-enroll you in text reminders.

If you've deleted the text reminder thread, you won't be able to re-enable it from your end. Instead, please reach out to your clinician for further assistance.

Tip: Make sure to let your clinician know as far in advance as possible if you need to cancel your appointment.

Have more questions? Submit a request