What happens when I delete an Office location?Answered
I have retired an office location and no longer see clients there (and never will).
I'd like to have it hidden from the calendar view and no longer appear as the default for new clients.
I'm tempted to click 'delete' next to the office location in settings. But what will happen? I DON'T want to lose the history of appointments at that office. And i suppose it's possible that an insurance hiccup might cause me to have to resubmit a previously submitted claim for that office.
I'd really just like to mark the office as 'inactive' (right, just like a client can be marked 'inactive').
So, what happens when one deletes an office location in Simple Practice?
Thank you for following up on your Idea and Suggestion posting. Our apologies for not replying sooner. When looking for assistance, please submit requests directly to our Help Center so we can assist in a timely manner.
When you no longer are active at an office location, you can delete the office from My Account > Settings > Practice Details by clicking the trash can icon. This office location will no longer appear in your future session availability. This should only be done after you've finished creating insurance claims and superbills for appointments that occurred there.
The first office listed in your Practice Details will be your default office location. To remove your Telehealth office as your default location, delete the Telehealth office, and then re-add it with the same details.
For a detailed guide on updating office locations please see this guide posted in our Help Center in September: What should I update in SimplePractice when I move my office location?
Currently we do not have any plans for adding an inactive office feature as we provide functionality to remove and add office locations at any time.
Please let me know if you have any additional questions and I can assist further.Comment actions
As the original poster of this question, I'm still afraid to delete a location I no longer use.
I'd really like the option to 'hide' the location (without, say, actually deleting it). The name of the location appears in dropdown lists when creating a new client. It also appears in the client portal for scheduling sessions (albeit with no availability - but it leads clients to believing I still work in that location.)
Also, my Telehealth location seems to be the 'default' location for new clients and appears as the first location in the client portal. I'd love to be able to order locations in addition to hiding unused locations.
Still frustrated with no resolution.
I'm having trouble!! I recently deleted a practice location, and for some reason ALL my calendar appointments- past, present, and future have been changed to the new non-default location. I don't understand why past appointments were changed once they have already occurred. And there are no answers. I will have to manually go in and change a year worth of appointments!?
I have not gone live with SP yet. I am most concerned with the Telehealth location showing up as the default location since it would undoubtably be selected without much thought. With that in mind, I would like to only have it appear for specific patients. The “hide” button seems the best option. I think it is appearing above the physical office location because of the coding: 02 for telehealth vs. 11 for office.
Hi Jamie, thank you for your feedback regarding how to make SimplePractice even better. Currently, it's not possible to hide an Office Location from your Client Portal - however, we are working on making Location management in the Portal more flexible, and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts here in our Community Forum.
Please sign in to leave a comment.