Skip to main content

Secure messages

Answered

Comments

18 comments

  • Gillian

    Hi Gloria, I'd be happy to help. Secure Messaging does not currently allow for the deletion or erasure of messages. Let me know if you have any additional questions about this, or anything else SimplePractice. I'm here to help.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Lirio Ohlson LMFT

    I accidentally messaged the wrong client. In those instances can you delete messages? That would be helpful! 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Theresa Lewis

    Can you allow the deletion of messages? I'd like to clear out the message box.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Gillian

    Hi Lirio and Theresa, SimplePractice does not currently have a feature that allows to you to delete messages. 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Marcie A. Evans, M.S., LMFT

    In order to make this feature at all useful and relevant, we need to be able to delete, edit, and include links in Messages. Otherwise is it a very rudimentary feature to use with clients and not worth it. 

    -1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Lirio Ohlson LMFT

    It is easy to post a message to the wrong person. Perhaps that feature can be improved if you do not want to create a capacity to amend/delete etc. a message. I think I have selected the right person but sometimes I look up and it is the wrong person. Perhaps you can have a message that asks you if you want to send to person before it sends. Either way I think it could definitely be improved as I really like it as a feature. 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Gillian

    Hi Marcie, to clarify, you can include links in Secure Messages. Thank you for the suggestions on how to improve SimplePractice - I'll share this thread with our team working on enhancements for Secure Messaging. 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Sandor Stockfleth

    it is unacceptable that a clinician cant delete a message if it has not been read yet. it makes the feature not very usable, particularly when trying to message multiple clients 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Sandor Stockfleth

    it would also be nice to be able to message a client via their profile so that it is not possible to message the wrong client.  I do find it interesting that I can edit these posts, but not messages.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Nakita Most, MSW, LICSW

    Is there a way to print secure messages?

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Bobette Jamison-Harrison, M.S., LMFT

    I can't see the message I'm typing in the Secure Messaging parameter of Simple Practice because the old messages are taking up the whole secure messaging window. Is there anything we can do to see the actual messages we are typing when the message boxes extend to the bottom of the screen? HELP!!

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Justin Bush

    I accidentally message the wrong client and also regret that I cannot delete the comment before it is read. I strongly advise Simple Practice to build this functionality to improve this feature.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Ayelette

    Hi Sandor, Nakita, Bobette, and Justin,

    If you'd like to delete a Secure Message that you've sent, we can do this for you. Justin, I've created a ticket on your behalf and a member of our Customer Success team will reach out to you shortly.

    There is not a way to print Secure Messages. I recommend voting on this idea on our Ideas and Suggestions board, where are product team can review your comments.

    When you type into the Secure Message field, it will expand to a few inches tall and then begin scrolling. Bobette, if you're experiencing other issues with the Secure Messaging feature, please feel free to reach out to us from your account and we'd be happy to help.

    For future reference, the quickest way to get support for account-specific questions is to send us a help request by clicking the blue question mark icon on the lower right of your SimplePractice account > clicking Get Help. For more details, feel free to check out this Help Center guide: Logging in to SimplePractice and submitting help requests.

    Although we're periodically monitoring the Community Forum, this is also a place for customers to exchange ideas and engage with one another on how to best use our platform. Thank you all for acting as resources for each other in the meantime. 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Mikayla T. Phan

    I strongly advise SimplePractice to create a feature to let us delete messages. In fact, it doesn't make sense to me to have the messaging feature but then not be able to delete messages. Dozens of messages could accumulate that are several years old or just simply no longer important to keep. 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Ruth

    Hi Mikayla, if you'd like to delete a secure message because it was sent by accident and contains PHI that doesn't belong to the client who received it, you can reach out to us to delete the message on your behalf. If you'd like us to consider adding functionality to delete older messages, please vote and comment on this feature request: https://simplepractice.uservoice.com/forums/918553-simplepractice-feedback/suggestions/42118801-feature-to-delete-secure-messages 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Dr. George Georges

    Just a thought, because messages are sent to patients instantly, the clients are likely to have already viewed the message before the process of submitting a help ticket can be completed. No reason that I can think of that the clinician can't have the autonomy to delete a message themselves. It can also reduce risk of legal problems to have clinician able to delete unread message sent to wrong client. Seems like a very important feature that needs to be adjusted. Again just a thought. Have a blessed day.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Zoe Lemaster

    Can secure messages be organized (much like an email inbox) into different folders and subfolders?

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Joni Winstead

    Following this post. I see that there is a feature that allows you to delete messages within the thread, but not to delete the entire thread altogether. It would be vey helpful to be able to delete old messages, especially from clients that have been discharged and are no longer active. Please update as this changes. 

    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.