Skip to main content

Clients canceling appointments online

Answered

Comments

11 comments

  • Jeremiah

    Hi Karin,

     

    I understand that you're wondering about how to set up your Client Portal so that your clients aren't able to cancel appointments in their Client Portal accounts.

    You can follow these steps to do this:

    1. Navigate to your Practice Details page (My Account > Settings > Practice Details).

    2. Scroll down to the "Cancellation Policy" section and select Don't allow. Always request to call me.

    3. Click Save.

    Now your clients won't be able to cancel their appointments directly in their Client Portal accounts.

    If you have any additional questions regarding this, please reach out and let me know.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • K. Christine Scott

    We allow our clients to cancel online but clients are not able to give a reason for the cancellation.

    Can you add a feature for client to provide a reason when they self cancel thru the portal?

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Gillian

    Hi Christine, we are actively working on this feature.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Darla Todd

    Is there a way to change how providers are notified when appointments are cancelled?

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Ayelette

    Hi Darla,

    When you update an appointment's status to Cancelled, there is not an automated way to send a reminder to the relevant clinician.

    I encourage you to add this idea to our Ideas and Suggestions board. Posting on this board means that members of our Product Team, as well as all members of our Community, have transparent access to review your suggestion. This board is one of our most important resources for understanding which features will have the most value for our community.

    If you're curious, here's more information about how a customer idea can become a SimplePractice feature: Customer feedback: How a customer idea can become a feature in SimplePractice.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Neil Cannon

    Hello,

    We have the feature set up so clients can self schedule. My question is, when a client cancels an appointment, what happens? If other clients were looking at that appointment, would they get notified, or would it just become "available" again?

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Ruth

    Hi Neil, currently there's no "waitlist" feature that generates a notification to customers when there's a cancellation. The cancelled time is made available for clients to book, but they won't be notified of a sudden opening. We're planning to integrate a waitlist feature into our platform and are actively seeking feedback on how, click here to upvote and comment on this feature request: https://simplepractice.uservoice.com/forums/918553-simplepractice-feedback/suggestions/36868597-wait-list-management . Thanks! 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Katelyn Cable

    Is there an update to the waitlist feature coming?

     

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Lauren Wilde

    When a client cancels in online booking does it notify me (the therapist) in any way? It gets very confusing to try to sort out if I changed the appointment while talking to the client or if the client did it (and I just don't know that).

    -1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Keli Yerger

    I'd like to see the reason client's provide when cancelling through the text option. Where does the information they type in go?

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Gary Johnson

    When our client cancels via text and does leave a reason why, where do I go to get the reason? Thank you...

    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.