Skip to main content

Duplicate clients

Answered

Comments

22 comments

  • Cristina Minchala

    I'd like to know this as well.  I accidentally created a profile for a client but forgot so I entered a second one by mistake. I'm scared to delete one profile because they have the same name and don't want to delete both profiles. 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Tracy Kristoff

    Did anyone receive and answer to this question? 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Donna Morris

    No, never received an answer. We got the billing cleaned up, but there are notes and billing on both accounts so we can’t just delete one. Marked one of the accounts inactive to avoid any future problems.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Gillian

    Hi all, happy to clarify, and apologies for our delayed response - we're working through a high volume of requests due to COVID-19. 

    To address a duplicate client, simply copy over any relevant information to the more complete profile from the less complete profile. Then, delete the less complete profile. When you enter the client's name, this is simply a failsafe to ensure you're deleting the correct client - only the record you're currently viewing will be deleted. 

    Let me know if you have any additional questions about this, or anything else SimplePractice. I'm here to help.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Terese Thompson

    Hello~ I have created a duplicate file and the platform will not let me delete one of the files. Please help. Both files are empty right now but one needs to be deleted. I enter the client's name and the button to delete client file will not working. It will not let me press the button to delete the file....

    -2
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Gillian

    Hi Therese, make sure you're entering the client's name exactly as it's entered in SimplePractice, including spacing and capitalization. Let me know if that resolves this issue for you.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Jennifer Ingram

    Is there no way to actually merge the files? I have managed to write one progress note in each file for a particular client. Can I actually go back in time and create progress notes? 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Stan Tatkin

    Hi,

    I'm finding the following notice overwhelming:

    Simplify your Clients & Contacts list by managing profiles. Find out more

    • Show 417 potential duplicate Clients & Contacts

    How do we deal with such a long list of possible duplicate contacts? Going one by one is incredibly daunting.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Teresa Johnson

    Stan, I felt similarly and wish the software had a solution for this. Since spending time manually merging all of them and getting to zero, I see that each time I schedule with a couple, I have more records to merge. This seems like an issue for therapists who work with couples since they list their partners as their emergency contacts.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Stan Tatkin

    Teresa,

    Yes. Though I love SP, it has created a ton of work for me as a couple therapist. 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Kublai Duhart

    Actually, when I copied the info over and erased the empty one, i lost the content in the new copy. So another suggestion please.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Eve Schutt

    Please answer how do I copy over the forms they have filled out.  I have a client I saw for private pay in 2018 and they reproached me in 2020 with insurance and I didn't recognize that this person was a previous client.  How can I bring over the forms she filled out in one file or the other? (Intake, GAD, PHQ9, etc) I have not seen her yet in 2020 but I don't want her to have to redo the intake forms as she is someone that does not have access to internet unless she drives to town and uses a hot spot. 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Gay A. Hunter,

    I have the same question as Jennifer i. All the assessments and diagnosis & treatment plan are in one file and the progress note for the initial evaluation is on the other one. I can't figure out how to move that note to the correct file. It causes problems in scheduling because the client has insurance, I think I'm scheduling through the client list that shows his insurance but it comes up self-pay. I opened up a file for him to do a 30-minute consult and didn't require him to fill in all of the information since I didn't know if he was going to proceed or not.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Gay A. Hunter,

    I've tried to merge the two files. I can mark the one file to merge but there isn't any other information as to which file I want it merged with.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Richard Morefield

    this is ridiculous.  how do i copy and past info such as payments, appts that have been completed.  to not have a merge client options is simply unacceptable.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Damito Owen

    We need the ability to merge clients' files.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Ayelette

    Hi everyone,

    We love feedback and ideas for ways to advance the platform, and if you have a moment I encourage you to vote and add your comment to the Merge duplicate clients idea which has been added to our Ideas and Suggestions board. When you vote or comment on this item, you'll automatically receive our status updates about this feature.

    Posting and commenting on our Ideas & Suggestions Board means that members of our Product Team, as well as all members of our Community, have transparent access to review your suggestion. This board is one of our most important resources for understanding which features will have the most value for our community.

    If you're curious, here's more information about how a customer idea can become a SimplePractice feature: Customer feedback: How a customer idea can become a feature in SimplePractice.

    If you're encountering any specific issues with your client list, I encourage you to reach out to us directly from your account through the blue question mark > Get Help option on the lower right of your SimplePractice account.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Sarah-June Carroll

    Two years later and I'm still having the same issue. This would be a REALLY useful feature to let the computer to the work of merging duplicate clients. Especially now that it tells me that there are duplicate clients, but doesn't offer a solution to resolve it 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Patricia Fields

    Yes! Should be allowed to merge! I had to create a copy of all chart notes, check demographic info, billing info - copying everything over to one file. It still wouldn't let me delete the name/file. I ended up putting the word duplicate in middle name so minimize confusion.

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Monica von Eggers PhD

    I have read through this list, but still not finding out how to merge two versions of the same client. Pretty bad actually.....

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Monica von Eggers PhD

    HOW DO I DUPLICATE TWO VERSIONS OF THE SAME CLIENT (including credit card and insurance info)?

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Monica von Eggers PhD

    The program says I cannot duplicate a client with a client.....???

    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.