Community

Adding a Supervisor to review and sign notes

If you're in a group practice or a pre-licensed clinician under supervision, this guide will take you through the best practices of a Supervisor and Supervisee's responsibilities.

Note: See Team members: Schedulers, Billers, and Supervisors to learn more about the Supervisor role. 


Adding a Supervisor and designating the Supervisee

If you're an Account Owner and you have additional Clinicians in your account, you can add the Supervisor role to yourself or any other clinician. If there are no other Clinicians in your account, you won't see the option to add the Supervisor role. Once you've added the additional team member(s), proceed to the steps below to designate supervision:

  • Go to My Account > Settings > Team Members 
  • Click the name of team member you plan to update with the Supervisor role 
  • Select the Supervisor Role checkbox
    supervisorrole.simplepractice.teammembers.jpg
  • Click Update Team Member to save 

Once the Supervisor has been added, you'll be able to designate who they'll be supervising by following these steps: 

  • Go to My Account > Settings > Team Members 
  • Click the name of the Supervisee 
  • Scroll down and select This clinician is pre-licensed under supervision
    supervision.simplepractice.teammembers.jpg
    • If there are multiple Supervisors in your practice, select the correct Supervisor from the dropdown options

In addition to the Account Owner being able to designate the Supervisee, the Supervisee can also select their own Supervisor. They can do this by navigating to My Account > Settings > Basic Info > Clinical Info from their own account and selecting their Supervisor from the dropdown. 
clinicalinfo.simplepractice.settings.jpg

Note: While a Supervisor can have an unlimited number of Supervisees, a Supervisee can only have one Supervisor.


Reviewing and signing notes

The Supervisor to Supervisee relationship is crucial to a clinician’s personal and professional development. In SimplePractice, we make it easy for Supervisors to approve, edit, sign, and lock their Supervisee’s notes.

Now that the Supervisor and Supervisee have been designated in your account, whenever the Supervisee writes a progress note and clicks Save, they have the option to either Edit or Sign & Share with Supervisor
progressnote.simplepractice.documentation.jpg

Once the progress note is shared, the Supervisor can follow these steps to review their Supervisee's notes:

  • Click the Supervision tab from the Calendar homepage 
    supervision.simplepractice.calendar.jpg
  • Click the note you want to review 
    notestosign.simplepractice.supervision.jpg
  • Click Lock & Sign or Request Edits 
    requestedits.simplepractice.supervisor.jpg
    • The Lock & Sign option will lock the progress note and add the Supervisor's eSignature 
      • When this option is selected, the Supervisor will see a confirmation modal where they can click Lock now, and then they'll see the locked and signed status: 
        lockedandsigned.simplepractice.notes.jpg
    • The Request Edits option will send the note back to the Supervisee to make additional edits before the Supervisor approves it
      • When this option is selected, the Supervisor will be able to Edit or Lock the note: 
        editorlock.simplepractice.progressnote.jpg
      • ​​​​The Supervisee will see the note back in their account to edit and resubmit

Note: Review this guide to go over the process to amend, correct, or clarify a locked note: How to use progress and psychotherapy notes.


Why can't my Supervisor see their Supervisee's progress notes?

If your Supervisor can't see your progress notes, you'll want to make sure that they're logged in as a Supervisor and that notes have been saved, signed, and shared. The Supervisee can also check their Clinical Info tab to verify if and by whom they're under supervision.

A Supervisor logged into their account will see a Supervision tab in the left column of their Calendar homepage:

supervision.simplepractice.calendar.jpg

If you're ready for your Supervisor to review your notes, you'll need to save and share them. To save and share the completed progress note, click Save and then Share & Sign with Supervisor.

Have more questions? Submit a request