Skip to main content

Using Telehealth features

Using Telehealth features

There are a variety of features and tools available to you during a Telehealth session. Understanding how to use each of these will set you up for hosting successful Telehealth calls.

In this guide, we’ll cover:


Features on a web browser vs. the mobile app

To use Telehealth by SimplePractice on a computer, you only need access to a web browser and a stable internet connection. Here's an overview of desktop browsers that support specific Telehealth features:

  Chrome Safari Firefox Edge Opera
Blur/virtual background X      X  X

Audio sharing

X*     X X
Screenshare X X X X X
Whiteboard X X X X X
Chat X X X X X

* only within tab sharing

Note: We recommend using Google Chrome.

When using a smartphone or tablet, here's an overview of the mobile device apps and browsers that support specific Telehealth features:

  Phone app Phone Browser iPad app iPad browser
Blur/virtual background        
Audio sharing        
Screenshare X   X*  
Whiteboard

Supported (viewable–except on Samsung Galaxy)

     
Chat X     X

* only within iPad app


Camera view

Your camera view is how your clients see and perceive your interactions during a Telehealth appointment. We've added a number of features that allow you to change the view your clients have of you. These customizations are only available when using the following web browsers: Chrome, Edge, and Opera 

To update your camera view:

  • Click the gear icon in the top right of a Telehealth appointment window
  • Select Background
  • Choose None or Crop 

none.simplepractice.background.png

This is what your camera view will look like when you choose Crop:

crop.simplepractice.telehealth.png

Blur and virtual backgrounds

There are also options to blur your background or to choose a virtual background to mask what’s behind you in a Telehealth appointment. 

To edit your background:

  • Click the gear icon in the top right of a Telehealth appointment window
  • Select Background
  • Choose Blur or another virtual background that we offer

blur.simplepractice.telehealth.png

If your background isn’t properly aligning, we recommend the following:

  • Adjusting your lighting so that you stand out from your background
  • Utilize a better quality camera, such as a USB camera
  • Wear clothes that don't blend in with the background

Audio

How your audio is heard by the client, as well as the way that you hear your clients can make a great difference in your Telehealth experience. You have the ability to choose the device that’s used for your audio capture. To do this:

  • Click the gear icon in the top right of a Telehealth appointment window
  • Select Audio
  • Use the Microphone dropdown menu to select a device

off.simplepractice.notifications.png


Screenshare

Our screen sharing feature allows you to share your entire screen, or specific tabs and applications that you have open on your device during a Telehealth appointment. Due to the restrictions that certain browsers place on screen sharing, you may need to use a different browser if you want certain functionalities. See the table below for which functionalities are available in what browsers:

 

Chrome

Safari

Firefox

Edge

Opera

Full Screen Share

X

X

X

X

X

Window Share

X

 

X

X

X

Browser Tab Share

X

   

X

X

Browser Tab Audio Sharing

X*

   

X

X

* only when specific tab sharing

To share your screen

  • Click Share at the bottom of the Telehealth appointment window
  • Select Your Screen

yourscreen.simplepractice.telehealth.png

Chrome

Chrome offers three different options for screen sharing. Choose a screen or window under one of these tabs:

  • Entire Screen
  • Window 
  • Chrome Tab
    • To share audio, select the box for Share tab audio 
  • Click Share

tab.simplepractice.telehealth.png

Firefox

  • Only allows entire screen sharing or a specific window

Safari

  • Only allows entire screen sharing

Tips for success

  • If you're screen sharing on a Mac computer for the first time in a browser other than Safari, you may need to go into your computer's System Preferences, and ensure that your browsers have proper access under Security & Privacy > Privacy > Screen Recording. Make sure that the lock icon in the bottom left corner of the window is unlocked before you attempt to change any settings.

screenrecording.simplepractice.privacy.png

  • If you're sharing your screen with your client, and you see a cascading effect with your screen mirroring many times over, this is due to sharing the Telehealth call tab. In order to stop this effect you can either:
    • Navigate away from the Telehealth video call tab or minimize the Telehealth browser window.
    • Stop screen sharing your entire screen and instead share only the tab or window you're intent on sharing with the other participants.

Whiteboard

Our Whiteboard feature allows users to share an interactive whiteboard with other participants, either for individual work or group collaboration. 

There are 4 tools available in the left panel when sharing a whiteboard. From the top to bottom, you'll find:

  • Draw
  • Type
  • Select
  • Insert file

Draw

  • The Draw tool allows Telehealth participants to use their cursor to draw or write on the whiteboard. There are six color options available, including white which can also be used as an eraser

color.simplepractice.draw.png

Type

  • The Type tool allows users to type out words. There are 4 font sizes, and 6 color options to choose from

size.simplepractice.type.png

Select 

  • The Select tool allows a user to select any object, drawing, or text on the whiteboard, and move, rotate, or delete it from view

rotate.simplepractice.select.png

  • To rotate, click and drag the arrow icon in the top left corner of the object once you've selected the object in question
  • To delete an item, click on the object and click the trash can icon or hit Delete/Backspace on your keyboard

Insert file

  • The Insert file tool allows a user to upload a JPEG, PDF, or PNG file to the whiteboard

insertfile.simplepractice.telehealth.png

  • Once added, the image can be moved by clicking and dragging it, resized by clicking and dragging the bottom right corner, or deleted by clicking the trash can icon

tools.simplepractice.insertfile.png

Unlocking a whiteboard

When sharing a whiteboard, by default it’ll be locked as indicated in the top left corner. 

locked.simplepractice.whiteboard.png

The Locked state indicates that only you have access to edit the board. To unlock the board and allow all participants to use the 4 tools, click Locked. As the clinician, only you can  re-lock or clear the board. To re-lock, click Unlocked in the top left corner. 

Saving a whiteboard

To save a whiteboard you've created:

  • In the top left corner, click Save

save.simplepractice.whiteboard.png

  • Review the modal that pops up
  • Click Got it

This will create a JPEG file in your Downloads folder for future reference.

Note: Once you stop sharing a whiteboard, you can't recover it, so make sure to save before you stop sharing.


Chat

Our chat feature enables participants to communicate with each other without needing to use the microphone audio. Any chats sent are viewable by all participants in the Telehealth session at the time the chat is sent. There isn’t a way to download the chat log during a Telehealth session.

Enabling and disabling notifications

You can disable on-screen notifications for incoming chat messages by going to Settings > General and turning the toggle off for Show preview of new chat messages.

off.simplepractice.notifications.png

Tip: Chat can be useful if a participant is experiencing connectivity issues, and you need a way to communicate with them. Whether you’re reloading the page or restarting your device, chat can be used to ensure that the participant is able to be reconnected as soon as possible.


Telehealth by SimplePractice app on a mobile device

Our Telehealth by SimplePractice app allows for participants to join on their mobile devices.

To use features like whiteboard, you’ll want to use the web version. If clients are using the Telehealth app to join the call, they’ll be able to view your whiteboard, but they won’t be able to use the tools to participate on the whiteboard.

Tips for success

  • Ensure that you're utilizing the latest version of the Telehealth by SimplePractice app
  • Make sure that the connection is stable by connecting to WiFi over cellular data, when possible
  • Utilize Telehealth links from text or email reminders

Still have questions?

Get more help