Skip to main content

How to change an appointment status

How to change an appointment status

You can set the appropriate status for an appointment to indicate if your client has shown up as planned, cancelled, late cancelled, or no-showed. Each status produces specific actions related to billing. In this guide, we’ll cover the following :


Show

When creating an appointment, the appointment status is set to Show unless the status is changed. This status indicates that the client will be at the appointment and billed the fee associated with the appointment.

show.simplepractice.appointmentstatus.png


Cancelled

If the client cancels the appointment far enough in advance where they shouldn’t be billed, you can set the status to Cancelled. When the status is set to Cancelled, this appointment:

  • Won't be treated as a billable event so the client won't be billed for this appointment
  • Won't appear on the client’s Billing page
  • Won't appear on statements or superbills

cancelled.simplepractice.appointmentstatus.png


Late Cancelled

If the client cancels the appointment outside your cancellation window, you can change the status to Late Cancelled. This indicates that:

  • The client will be billed for this appointment
  • The appointment and the appointment fee will be visible on the client’s Billing page and on statements
  • The appointment won't be included on a superbill or a claim form since you aren't permitted to bill insurance for appointments that didn’t occur

latecancelled.simplepractice.appointmentstatus.png


No Show

In the event a client doesn’t show up for a scheduled appointment, you can change the appointment status to No Show. This indicates that:

  • The client will be billed for the appointment
  • The appointment and the appointment fee will be visible on the client’s Billing page and on statements
  • The appointment won’t be included on a superbill or a claim form, as you’re not permitted to bill insurance for appointments that didn’t occur

noshow.simplepractice.appointmentstatus.png


FAQs


What happens to the client’s responsibility when updating the appointment status?

When an appointment status is updated from Show to Late Cancelled or No Show, the full appointment fee is automatically assigned to the client. Even if the appointment status is updated back to Show, the full appointment fee will remain the client’s responsibility. It’s recommended that if you’re updating the appointment status back to Show, you’ll also want to update the client’s responsibility of the appointment fee.

To do this:

  • Navigate to the client’s Billing page
  • Find the appointment in question
  • Click Edit next to appointment

adjustclientowes.simplepractice.billingpage.png

  • Adjust the amount in the Client Owes field
  • Click Save

Can I edit the appointment fee for a Late Cancelled or No Show appointment? 

You can update the client responsibility for a Late Cancelled or No Show appointment from the client’s Billing page at any time. 

To do this:

  • Navigate to the client's Billing page
  • Find the appointment in question
  • Click Edit next to appointment

adjustfee.simplepractice.appointmentstatus.png

  • Adjust the amount in the Fee field
  • Click Save

Still have questions?

Get more help