Community

AutoPay FAQ


What is AutoPay?

SimplePractice AutoPay is an easy way for you to bill your clients and collect session fees without having to lift a finger. AutoPay automatically charges the client's credit card that you have on file. You can enroll individual clients in AutoPay and disable it for others. The choice is up to you and you have full control.

To help you easily control AutoPay, we send you an Evening Summary Email at the end of the day so you can make changes before your client is charged.


How do I start using AutoPay for my practice?

If you've already set up Stripe for your account, you can set up AutoPay! Here's how:

  1. Go to My Account > Settings > Billing and Services.
  2. Scroll down to the AutoPay section.
  3. Check the AutoPay Enabled box in your Billing settings.
  4. Click Save.

If you haven't set up Stripe, you'll be prompted to set up Stripe when you enable AutoPay. For more info about Stripe and setting up your account, click here.

autopay-1.png


How do I enable AutoPay for a client?

You'll need to have a valid credit card on file for the client to enable AutoPay for them. Click here to learn how to add a credit card for your client.

You can enable AutoPay for a client in two places:

  1. Billing Settings. If AutoPay is enabled, you'll see a list of clients in your AutoPay settings. If the checkbox is deselected, the client is not enrolled. To enable, just select the box, then click the blue Save button at the bottom of the page.
  2. Client Overview. Navigate to the client's overview page. Click edit client info then click the Billing tab. If the client already has a credit card on file, you can select the AutoPay Enrolled checkbox, then scroll down and click Save.

autopay-2.png


How do I disable AutoPay for my practice?

Simply navigate to your Billing settings, then scroll down to the AutoPay section. Deselect the AutoPay enabled checkbox and then click Save.


How do I disable AutoPay for a client?

You can disable AutoPay for a client in two places:

  1. Billing Settings. If AutoPay is enabled, you'll see a list of clients in your AutoPay settings. If the checkbox is selected, the client is enrolled. To disable, just deselect the box, then click the blue Save button at the bottom of the page.
  2. Client Overview. Navigate to the client's overview page. Click on View/edit client info then click the Billing tab. If the client is enrolled, you will see a checkmark in the AutoPay Enrolled checkbox. Deselect the checkbox then scroll down and click Save.

What does AutoPay charge my client?

If your client is enrolled in AutoPay, your client will be charged the full balance remaining on their account. To verify what the client's balance is, check the Billing Overview page for the client.

At this time we're not able to change the amount that is charged in AutoPay. 

autopay-3.png


When does AutoPay charge my client?

AutoPay will charge your client's between the hours of 12-2am in your local timezone. At this time we can't customize when these transactions are run. 


What happens after a failed transaction with AutoPay?

AutoPay will attempt to charge your client's card 3 nights in a row. If it fails a third time, then AutoPay will be disabled for this client.


I added a credit card. Why wasn't my client enrolled in AutoPay?

This means you haven't fully enrolled the client in AutoPay. You'll need to enable AutoPay for that client. Click here to learn how.


Why am I not receiving my Evening Summary Email?

If you turned off the Evening Summary Email in your settings, you won't receive the Evening Summary Email. Make sure that you are set to receive this by going to your Notifications section in your settings. You'll need to wait until the next day to receive this email.

If you're still not receiving them the next day, click here to try a few more steps.

autopay-4.png


Why does my client's balance look different in the Evening Summary Email?

The Evening Summary Email shows what the client will be billed overnight through AutoPay. The AutoPay total includes both the current balance and any invoices that were set to be auto-generated that evening. 

For example if your client has a $400 balance and had a session for $100 today which does not have an invoice yet, the AutoPay total will be $500.


I accidentally enabled AutoPay for a client and they were charged. How do I fix this?

You'll want to do two things to make sure your client isn't enrolled and they are refunded.

1. Disable AutoPay for the client.

You can disable AutoPay for a client in two places:

  1. Billing Settings. If AutoPay is enabled, you'll see a list of clients in your AutoPay settings. If the checkbox is selected, the client is enrolled. To disable, deselect the box, then click Save.
  2. Client Overview. Navigate to the client's overview page. Select View/edit client info then click the Billing tab. If the client is enrolled, you will see a checkmark in the AutoPay Enrolled checkbox. Deselect the checkbox then scroll down and click Save.

2. Refund the client.

If the client needs to be refunded, it's simple to process a refund for the client. Click here for the step-by-step guide to refund an AutoPay credit card payment.


Can clients turn off/on AutoPay?

Right now, clients can't turn off/on AutoPay. Only clinicians will be able to enable or disable AutoPay for a client.

Have more questions? Submit a request